I spent the weekend at the Toronto Vegetarian Food Fair aka Vegan Christmas.  It was perhaps one of the best few days I have ever had, between visiting some of my favourite people and sampling delicious treats, it was just what I needed to remind me of why I do what I do and live the life I lead.

The weekend started with me working with some amazing ladies and brands; Two Girls Cooking

and Girlnola

I sipped on coconut water and enjoyed a beautiful Sunday afternoon with one of my besties and fellow Holistic Nutritionist, Miranda:

We caught Lisa and Nicole’s raw vegan ice cream demo.  These ladies made three gorgeous blizzard style soft serves; strawberry cheesecake (recipe below), cookie dough and chocolate mint:

And I picked up some sweet swag from some of my favourite brands including; Two Girls Cooking, Girlnola, Marni Wasserman, Kindfood and Shasha Co.

What a fantastic time!  Seeing all my amazing friends renewed my spirit and joy for veganism, health, and a compassionate lifestyle.

Strawberry Cheesecake Blizzard
recipe by Lisa Pitman and Nicole Axworthy

Ingredients

Strawberry Swirl
1 cup strawberries, hulled
1 tsp lemon zest
2 large Medjool dates, pitted
2 ts[ coconut oil

Crust
1/4 cup raw almonds
1/4 cup raw pecans
pinch of sea salt
4 large Medjool dates, pitted

Soft Serve
2 bananas, peeled and frozen
1 tsp lemon juice

Directions

Strawberry Swirl
1. In a food processor, combine the strawberries, zest and dates.  Process until smooth
2. Add coconut oil and process until well combined
3. Chill in the refrigerator for 20 minutes

Crust
1. In a food processor, pulse the almonds, pecans and sea salt into a fine meal. 
2. Add the dates and pulse until well combined

Soft Serve
1. In a blender or food processor, blend the bananas until a creamy, ice cream consistency is achieved.
2. Add lemon juice and pulse to combine.
3. Divide the soft serve between four bowls.  Add 1/4 cup of strawberry swirl and 2 tbsp of crust.  Swirl the mixture gently with a spoon.

