Back in 2004 I travelled to the Andalusia region of Spain.  It is perhaps one of the most friendly and hospitable places in the world. 

I can’t imagine going back now, as a high raw vegan holistic nutrition student as Spain is famous for their Manchego cheese, Jamón ibérico (cured ham), paella and churros and I wouldn’t eat any of that now.  However, there was one dish I was introduced to that I absolutely adored and that was gazpacho.

Gazpacho is light and refreshing chilled soup that has many variations.  It is so simple to make, all you need is a blender!  I have recreated it to suite my needs of being mostly raw and vegan.

 

Gazpacho

Ingredients

1/2 cucumber
4 tomatoes, medium size
1/2 red pepper
1/2 onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
pinch of basil
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Chop all veg and set aside about 1/4 of cucumber, tomatoes, red pepper and onion

2. Combine all ingredients (with the exception of the vegetables set aside) in a blender and blend until fairly well combined.  Having the soup slightly chunky is ok.

3. Pour into bowl and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

4.  Once chilled, garnish with remaining chopped veg and serve.

Makes 2 servings

Note – avocado would be an excellent addition to the soup, unfortunately at the time of recipe creation the avocado on my counter had not yet ripened.

