In business, the term “diversify” is often thrown around.  I understand it to be defined as varying a company’s products or when investing, to reduce risk by having a variety of assets.

If we take this idea of diversifying and apply it to our health, it makes total sense to me.  If we look at our bodies as companies and the food we put in them as our assets, we get either profit or loss depending on the choices we make.  When we add variety to our diet and lifestyle whether it be through new foods we consume or a new activity, we are essentially diversifying and thus reducing our risk of disease and increasing our livelihood.

Obviously there’s a reason I went into health and not finance…

While on a recent grocery shopping trip, I picked up a couple of guavas.  Having never tried guava before and feeling that I needed to diversify my life a lil’ I bought them.  Once I got home, I was totally stumped with what to do with these guavas, I did what I always do – stick ‘em in my Blendtec.  What came out was a gorgeous ice cream like treat.

Mango-Guava Soft Serve

Ingredients

1 cup mango, frozen
1 guava, small or medium, seeds removed
2 Medjool dates

Directions

1. Remove peel and seeds from guava
2. Combine all ingredients into high-powered blender, such as a Blendtec or into a food processor and blend until smooth
3. Pour mixture into bowl and freeze for 1 hour.  Once frozen, scoop out and top with fruit. 

Guava has a large amount of pectin, which are complex carbohydrates found in the cell walls of plants.  It helps to bind the gauva and mango together to form a creamy texture.  Guava is also a rich source of Vitamin C and fibre.

