The area of Toronto I live in is referred to as the Entertainment District or Clubland.  Shudder.

On Friday and Saturday night packs of just legal kids from the Suburbs descend on my neighbourhood.  The truth is, only a few years ago I was one of them.

However now that I’m older, wiser and a lot more dull, I spend my Friday nights doing my favourite activity of all…grocery shopping.

I like to get dolled up in my cutest track pants and strut my fine self up to Whole Foods in Yorkville.  Sometimes, while descending down the escalator to the store, I wear my trendy Juicy Couture sunglasses that I bought at a discount store in NYC so that customers and employees will think I am a famous European movie star.  I am not even kidding you.

But I digress.

This particular Friday I found a gorgeous assortment of beans.  I choose the standard green and picked up a cool purple pod pole bean.  And you thought I didn’t know how to have a good time.

I transformed my beans into a gorgeous salad with a tangy honey-mustard vinaigrette dressing.

Bean Salad with Honey Mustard Vinaigrette

Ingredients

Salad

2 cups beans, chopped
1/2 cup celery, chopped
1/2 cup red kidney beans

Vinaigrette

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp prepared stone ground mustard (look for an organic, sugar-free kind)
2 tsp honey, raw and unpasteurized
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Chop beans and celery and assemble into a salad with red kidney beans

2. Combine all ingredients for the vinaigrette into a bowl and whisk together until combined (makes about 1 cup)

3. Drizzle vinaigrette over salad, refrigerate for a few hours to lets dressing absorb into beans.

