Last night was a hot one here in Toronto.  The kind of night that had I not been a healthy-living vegan, I may have stopped and got a chocolate soft serve cone from one of the numerous ice cream trucks parked in my neighbourhood.

Ever wonder what’s actually used to make soft serve?  The National Post wrote a story on this a few years back.  Ingredients include – corn syrup, whey, calcium sulfate and more sugar then should ever be consumed by the human body.

I whipped up this delicious treat using some frozen Ontario-grown sour cherries I found at Whole Foods.  Try it and I swear you’ll like it better then that crap that’s served out of a truck.

You can even eat it for breakfast.  Not that I’m doing that…right now…

Chocolate-Cherry Soft Serve

Ingredients

1 banana, frozen or unfrozen your choice
1/2 cup frozen sour cherries
1 tbsp raw cacao powder
1/2 tbsp maple syrup
1 medjool date

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to high-powered blender or food processor
2. Blend until smooth and transfer to bowl or layer in parfait glass
3. Top with raw cacao nibs and whole cherries

