When I became vegan 3 years ago I didn’t know a single soul who also shared my values and beliefs so you can imagine my excitement about spending yesterday afternoon in Trinity Bellwoods surrounded by amazing, like-minded, beautiful vegan friends: Lisa, Steph, Camille, Marlie, Cassandra, Lisa and Ashley

DSC01188

I look back to 3 years ago and think just how far I’ve come and how many amazing people I have met along the way.  I feel truly blessed to know each of these women and admire their talent and passion.

Each lady brought a dish and we had an amazing potluck picnic in the park.  On the menu was Quinoa Kale salad, Thai Mango salad (recipe below), Hummus and carrots, Watermelon, Dehydrated Grape Leaves, Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble, Strawberry Thumbprint cookies, Peanut Butter Thumbprint cookies, Coconut Cacao Date balls and Mini Strawberry Cheesecakes.  So very delicious!

Here’s my recipe for Thai Mango salad, try adding quinoa for a lil’ something extra!

Thai Mango Salad

Ingredients

2 mangoes, julienned
1 red pepper, thinly sliced
1/2 green pepper, thinly sliced
3 green onions, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
handful of parsley, chopped
juice from 1 lime
salt and pepper to taste
cashews or peanuts, crushed to garnish

Directions

1. Prepare and combine mangoes, red pepper, green pepper, green onions, red onion and parsley.
2. Mix lime juice, salt and pepper in separate bowl and pour over veggie mixture.
3. Chill for 1 hour and let marinade.  Garnish with nuts and serve.

DSC01186

