Hi guys!  The My Favourite Vegan series continues and I am so honoured to feature Angela of Oh She Glows.  I have been reading Angela’s blog for over a year and this girl just keeps getting better and better!

Aside from blogging, running, creating delicious and easy recipes and taking gorgeous photographs of her food, Angela also runs a vegan bakery called Glo Bakery.  I don’t know how she does it all, but she does with grace and humour.

When/how did you become vegan?

In 2008, I decided that I would eat a meat-free diet and I continued to consume dairy, eggs, fish, and other animal products. However, I was still plagued with health problems and experimented with forgoing dairy to see if that would improve my digestive troubles. I realized that I felt so much better when not consuming dairy products, so I was motivated to stick with it. At this time, I also educated myself about the food industry and my love for animals and the environment swayed my choices in my diet even more. Watching Food Inc. really opened my eyes and I realized that I could never go back to eating animal products again. I asked myself, ‘Why sacrifice an animal when I can obtain my diet from plants?’

In 2009, I continued to eat fish occasionally up until around the early summer when I decided to eat a vegan diet. I just did what was best for me at the time. I listened to my body. For me, it was never about being ‘perfect’ according to a certain label or what people say I should eat. I think everyone needs to find what works for them and not worry about what other people will think.

What is your favourite vegan meal?

Oh wow that is a tough one! I don’t think I can pick just one so I would have to say 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta, Butternut Squash Mac ‘n Cheeze, and Back on Track Wheatberry and Bean Salad.

What does "vegan" and being vegan mean to you?

Veganism has made me a more compassionate person. I never expected that what I eat could have such a profound effect on how I think, feel, and react about the world around me. I have a huge love for all animals and I think they are so much more intelligent than many people give them credit for. Factory farming really saddens me.

Your favourite kitchen staples (ie ingredients, tools and gadgets etc)

My most used kitchen appliance is my Kitchen Aid 12 cup food processor! Other tools that I use daily are my OXO salad spinner, OXO citrus juicer, OXO can opener, Wusthof’s Chef knife, Vitamix, Crate & Barrel Bamboo stirring spoon, spatula, and eco-friendly Green Pan cook and bake ware. 

Top 3-5 favourite resources (ie books, websites, blogs, people)

My most visited and used vegan recipe blog is Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. I also love Choosing Raw, The Kind Life, Crazy Sexy Life, Tastespotting, Foodgawker, and Veg News.

Any advice to vegans or those thinking of transitioning to a vegan lifestyle?

I recommend seeing a Registered Dietician to discuss food alternatives, get your blood levels checked every 6 months, take your vitamins (I take a vegan multi, B12, Calcium, Magnesium, Vit D, and occasionally iron), and most of all, do what makes YOU happy!

Thank you Angela for participating, I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

Follow Angela on her blog and Twitter

