Hi friends!  Today’s favourite vegan is Lindsay of Cook. Vegan. Lover.  I really love Lindsay’s story, she shows that love really does make positive changes.  She is also a Holistic Health Counsellor so you know that makes her awesome!

When/how did you become vegan?

I met my husband (who is also vegan and was at the time of our meeting) during my third year of university  and we began to date and cook all of our meals together. I began to get my hands on any resource I find to help me understand more about nutrition and how to eat healthy on a vegan diet.  The more we were together the less dairy and eggs I consumed and then I decided that it was time to give them up all together especially with my knowledge of the affects of factory farming, the treatment animals and the additives that can be found in animal products that are not good for us or just plain appalling.

Becoming vegan brought my husband and I closer together and forced me to being more aware of what I am putting into my body. I also have developed a love for make our meals using whole foods and have developed a great knowledge of nutrition and food. My relationships with others has not changed but rather have inspired my friends and family to try new things that are foreign to them and helping them see that vegan foods are just as good as ones that contain animal products.

What is your favourite vegan meal?

My favourite vegan meal? That is really a difficult question but I love chili- my husband could easily say that It is probably one of my favourite meals and I make it too often (for him).  But I also love Buddha Bowls, pasta with garlic sauce, veggie burgers, vegan sushi….see I told you that it’s a difficult question. 

What does "vegan" and being vegan mean to you?

Vegan to me is a lifestyle. It is not just about the food I eat but the way in which I live my life, the items I purchase and clothing I wear.  It encompasses my whole being.

Your favourite kitchen staples (ingredients, tools and gadgets etc)

My kitchen staples are nutritional yeast, tamari, hot sauce, brown rice, my Blendtec, and a really good chefs knife.

Top 3-5 favourite resources (books, websites, blogs, people)

My top resources are:
Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Oh She Glows 
Kristen’s Raw
G Living

Any advice to vegans or those thinking of transitioning to a vegan lifestyle?

My advice would be to start simple.  I recommend that people start by using replacements for their omni favorites such as veggie burgers, Amy’s frozen dinners, Tofurky products, ect.  Once you start to become more comfortable then branch out to trying more recipes on your own using tofu, tempeh, beans and a variety of grains.  Great cookbooks to help in making the transition are any of Sarah Kramers Books, Vegan with Avengence by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and The 30 Minute Vegan.

Follow Lindsay on her blog and Twitter

