Hi friends!  I am really excited for today’s favourite vegan, Lauren of Ginger is the New Pink.

Lauren’s blog was one of the first vegan blogs I started reading and she really helped inspire and change my eating habits for the better.  Lauren is not only a mom to her fur baby now to a real baby too!

When/how did you become vegan?

I became a vegan in 2006 after I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease a year before. There were 2 reasons I felt this was the best diet for me. First, through trial and error I found my symptoms were much less severe when I ate this way. Second, at the time I had just got married and we had a new puppy (my beloved Ginger). I felt I couldn’t eat animals anymore after the bond I had formed with her.

What is your favourite vegan meal?

I love Mexican food (hold the spice!) and anything Italian veganized. But honestly, a nice kale salad really does it for me!

What does "vegan" and being vegan mean to you?

Being vegan means that I am eating at an optimal level for my health without harming anyone or anything in the process. It means vitality, love, compassion and health.

Your favourite kitchen staples (ingredients, tools and gadgets etc)

My Vitamix (which I affectionately call Lafayette, named after the True Blood character!)
Curry powder (I put this on everything!!)
A salad spinner
Good quality olive oil
My Breville Juicer and ground black pepper

Top 3-5 favourite resources (books, websites, blogs, people)

Kristen’s Raw (and Kristen too!)
The Raw Food Rehab Community
Crazy Sexy Life
Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr

Any advice to vegans or those thinking of transitioning to a vegan lifestyle?

Don’t be so hard on yourself! I see people in online communities calling themselves a failure because of a slip up. You can always start again at your next meal, remember Rome wasn’t built in a day!

You can connect with Lauren on her blog and Twitter.

