Happy hump day friends! 

I’ve been high raw for about 2 weeks now and at least 80% of my meals are raw and the rest cooked. I am loving it and feel like personally this is a huge step in the right direction to bringing me to my optimal potential! 

One area of raw eating I was struggling with was breakfast.  I like to eat my breakfast out of a bowl and with a spoon.  I am over overnight oats and hot cereal wasn’t satisfying me anymore.  And then I discovered buckwheat.  And now…

O.M.G.

Raw buckwheat breakfast is my new favourite thing in life.

Here’s the down low on buckwheat…

Buckwheat is a fruit seed related to rhubarb and sorrel and is gluten-free, so it’s a great option if you have a wheat or gluten sensitivity.  It contains a high amount of flavonoids; these are phytonutrients that protect against disease by acting as antioxidants.  Buckwheat is a source of Magnesium – a mineral which helps relax blood vessels and has a calming effect on the body.  In 1 cup of buckwheat there is approximately 4.5g of fibre.  If you were to add an apple to this you would get almost 10 grams of fibre!  The minimum requirement for women ages 19-50 is 25g of fibre per day.  Fibre helps keep you feeling full and helps bulk up your stools to improve bowel tone and elimination.  There is raw hulled buckwheat and the toasted form known as kasha.*

Raw Buckwheat Breakfast

Ingredients

1/3 cup raw, hulled buckwheat
1 tbsp maple syrup (or your preferred sweetener)
1 tsp cinnamon
water or almond milk if needed

Directions

Step 1 – Soak buckwheat in 2 cups of water overnight, or for 8 hours

Step 2 – Drain buckwheat and put in food processor, add maple syrup and cinnamon to food processor

Step 3 – Process until relatively smooth.  If it’s too thick, add a bit of water or almond milk to thin out

Step 4 – Transfer into bowl and top with your favourite superfoods.  Mine include ground flax, chia seeds, hemp seeds and raw cacao

Enjoy!

Have you ever tried buckwheat?

*Source – WHFoods.org

