Hi guys! 

I am super excited to launch my new guest blogger series entitled My Favourite Vegan.  If you recall I have recently transitioned back to a vegan diet and I wanted to showcase some of the amazing and influential vegans who I find inspiring. 

I sent out a list of questions to my favourite vegans and they kindly responded with their answers.  Every Tuesday stay tuned for a new vegan guest!

My first favourite vegan is Ange of Hol : Fit.  Ange is a Personal Trainer, student of Holistic Nutrition and a vegan mommy to her beautiful daughter. 

When/how did you become vegan?

I became vegan in Jan 2010 after a year of eating vegetarian and feeling great. My daughter was 6 months old at the time & was beginning to eat more foods so I really wanted to start her off on the right track. I did a ton of research on how to raise a vegan child and felt confident about my choice. I continued to breastfeed her up to 21 months old to ensure that she received the necessary levels of supplementation that I take (such as B12, iron & vit D)

What is your favourite vegan meal?

Hands down would be Butternut Squash Mac n Cheeze with grilled tempeh mixed in. Way better than the old Kraft Dinner and so good for you!

What does "vegan" and being vegan mean to you?

It’s a compassionate, peaceful way of living not only in the effects it has on the environment & the animals, but in our digestive system. I right away felt more peaceful when I ate vegan food and didn’t have to worry about yucky hormones floating through my body!

Your favourite kitchen staples (ie ingredients, tools and gadgets etc)

Key ingredients would be: nutritional yeast for making a killer cheeze sauce, almonds for making mil & various nuts & seeds (love hemp) for sprinkling on toast, salads & main dishes. Fave gadgets are: food spiralizer for making zucchini noodles, my Blendtec Blender for daily smoothies, mandolin slicer for easy salads, a garlic press & a lemon squeezer for daily lemon water!

Top 3 favourite resources (ie books, websites, blogs, people)

I love the books & podcasts by Colleen Patrick Goudreau of Compassionate Cooks, Oh She Glows for amazing vegan baking inspiration, Brendan Brazier of the Vega Company for his amazing products & books.

Any advice to vegans or those thinking of transitioning to a vegan lifestyle?

Do your research and know that it’s not a diet all about eating processed carbs. You may experience alot of pushback by friends & fam, but just understand that it’s what they don’t know that makes them fear you’re not making a wise decision. There are many false understandings out there and at the end of the day people are going to project their own fears on you because it means they aren’t ready to make conscious choices about there eating yet.

There are so many delish ways to get your protein in, and you also have to be diligent about getting your levels of B12 & iron tested because those are 2 things that are harder to get through a vegan diet. BUT, that is all you will have to worry about and before you know it you’ll be dazzling your friends & fam with dishes they’ll never believe are vegan!

Check-out Hol : Fit’s March newsletter here:

You can also follow Ange on Twitter and Facebook.

