Greetings friends!  Hope you are having a good weekend so far.  Today went by a little to quickly.  I have a test on Monday and I am trying my best to prepare.

Today’s post is a guest post from…my Dad!  I hope you enjoy it!

Take it away Dad…

Recently, I had the pleasure of having Danielle at my home for a weekend of sharing cooking and health tips.

Prior to Danielle’s arrival, she had forwarded a recipe for a Moroccan Stew that looked interesting and a tad challenging but also, a last minute notice to make cookies for her. Although I have some cooking skills, cooking vegetarian meals has never been my forte but I thought it would give me chance to know Danielle a little bit better. So out to grocery store I went to make sure I had all the ingredients.

By mid morning on Saturday, we had jointly chopped, diced and prepared a stew which turned out to be one of the more delicious and fragrant dishes I have made in a long time. We shared a meal and I listened to her suggestions and considerations for a healthy lifestyle. In a very short time, I realized how much this young girl had grown into a knowledgeable free spirit and had found a passion that truly ignited her spirit.

Danielle had asked me to make some cookies for her and fortunately, I had all the ingredients at home to whip up my variation of Happy Vegan Chocolate Chip cookies before she arrived. The following is the website’s version with a few changes I made that I think make a better cookie and after all, isn’t that what we really want.

Cooking with Danielle_0024

Happy Vegan Cookies

Ingredients
2 cups unbleached flour (use brown rice flour)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
cinnamon to taste (optional)
1 cup raw cane sugar (use sucanat and cut amount by half)
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil (use coconut oil)
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup coconut water
Chocolate chips, raisins, walnuts, dates, cranberries…the possibilities are endless

Directions

Make sure all ingredients are at room temperature. While your oven is pre-heating, put the cookie sheets you are going to use on top of the oven so they get preheated as well.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir in chips. Make a well in the center and set aside.

2. In a medium size bowl, add together sugar and oil; mix well. Add the vanilla and then add the water and coconut water; mix well.  Add the wet to the well in the dry. Mix it well but be careful not to overwork it.  Add more chips if you need to.

3. Spoon onto un-greased cookie sheets. Put them in the oven. Bake for approx. 15 minutes. The cookies are done when they seem a little bit softer then you want them to be. They will harden up some as they cool. I usually go in two minute increments from here until they get to where I like them.

4. Take them out when they are done and move them to wire cooling racks. If they split or come apart when you try to remove them let them sit on the pan for 2 minutes before transferring them to the racks.

What I like most about this recipe is that it is so flexible. You can add or substitute a number of variations such as raisins, walnuts, dates and cranberries or all of them if you like. For this recipe, I used raisins and chopped walnuts. Most importantly, you have no idea from the taste that these are vegan cookies.

So there you have it, vegan chocolate chip cookies that made a young woman happy and her father, a guest blogger on her wonderful and informative website!

Just something else we can say we shared.

Dani’s note – everything in brackets are ingredients you could substitute to make these healthier)

