Happy holidays friends!

I’ve missed you and I apologize for my tardy post.  The last few weeks have been a bit busy with school and life.  I was also studying for my personal training exam and I am thrilled to report that I passed!  I still need to complete the practical component before I can become a certified personal trainer but I’m working on it.  Anyways, I’m back and I’m going to be a much more nurturing mother to my blog-baby.

One of the things I love about holistic nutritionists is their willingness to share their knowledge and their recipes.  A few weeks ago I discovered the blog All Ways Nutritious written by Christyn, a Registered Holistic Nutritionist and fellow Canadian.  Last night I made a dish she adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe, Apple-Curried Quinoa with Toasted Almonds:

Gorgeous right?  I went a bit overboard with the kale but I have a ton to use up and the kale does not over power this recipe at all.  Plus too many greens are always a good thing.

Back in October when I went to a blogger meet-up I met the gorgeous and talented Preena of Arvinda’s, makers of the most delicious Indian spices.  Preena kindly and generously gave out samples of Arvinda’s spices and I had been waiting for the perfect curry recipe to use mine.  There is such a huge difference in the taste and quality of Arvinda’s spices versus other curry powders I have used.  I can honestly say I loved these spices so much that I now give them away as gifts (please note this is 100 my opinion, no one is paying me to promote or say nice things!)

This recipe is perfect for cold, Canadian winters!

 Wishing you a very happy and healthy holiday!  Eat and be well!

