So last Friday my lovely friend Janis and I went to see/hear HH the 14th Dalai Lama speak about human approaches to world peace.  You can listen to it here.  I don’t like to get political here, I’m a very non-confrontational gal but I need to share with you my thoughts…opinions and comments welcome!

What I took from this lecture were two things:

#1 We are all human brothers and sisters

This just seems like a really nice way of thinking to me that essentially despite some rather superficial differences we are all the same and we want the same things in life.

#2 Non-bias compassion

Love.  After hearing this I became completely aware that I participate in this way of thinking  it’s not entirely right.  Everyone deserves compassion, everyone.  Whether you agree with them or not.  We could all afford to just be a little kinder and a little gentler to those around us.

I need to make sure I see the Dalai Lama or any other motivational/inspirational speaker more often,  It’s done wonders to my attitude and made me feel much more positive about life (not that I was a bitter betty before or anything!)  So here’s your Body By Nature challenge for the month of November – show compassion.   

Do you have a favourite motivational or inspirational speaker?  What is the best advice they’ve given you?

