When I was a little girl in the 80’s I adored the television show, Rainbow Brite.  I had a Rainbow Brite doll as well as a seriously adorable plush Twink, her trusty Sprite.

If there is one thing this show taught me, it is that life is better with lots of colour.  Especially in our food.  So please allow me to present:

Rainbow Bright Quinoa & Raw-Veg Salad

Ingredients:

Quinoa
1 can chickpeas
Black olives
Loads of raw veggies in different colours, I suggest zucchini, peppers, snap peas, tomato, green onion, carrots

Directions:

1. Cook quinoa according to package (1:2 ratio of quinoa to water)
2. Once slightly cooled, mix in rinsed chickpeas and black olives
3. Chop up your raw veggies and toss in.
4. Mix with your favourite dressing and enjoy.

This salad is has an amazing nutritional profile – quinoa is a complete protein and the variety of veggies will keep you feeling full.  Plus it takes about 25 minutes to make (including the quinoa cooking time.)  I get a large amount of serving from this so it’s a great meal to make on a Sunday and you can have it throughout the week.  It’s a good idea to store the raw veg in one container and the quinoa/chickpeas/black olives in another so nothing gets soggy.

