I have a major sweet tooth, I think I was born with it and I know I come by it honestly.  At family gatherings,  mine may as well skip over the main course and eat dessert first.  But my addictive, all-consuming affair with this harmful, refined white stuff needs to come to an end because all sugar has done is give me the energy level of a turtle, thunder thighs and acne.

Leaving behind my chemically laced lover is going to be a hard one.  I’m not exactly known for the ability to stop and think before I reach out and grab something sweet.   By eliminating junk from my otherwise healthy diet will make me look and feel much better so I am going to suck it up and make the change. 

I will still allow for natural sweeteners such as agave nectar, honey, sucanat and stevia.  The trick is to change my mind-set.  Instead of thinking I am depriving myself by not having sweets, I need to think of the positives.  For example – my skin will look bright and clear, instead of the lack-luster dullness of current, I won’t have the 3pm energy slump where I feel like useless I have a cookie to perk me up.  And I’ll lose my sugar belly, that little jiggle around my middle that I’m pretty sure use to not be there.   And aside from the superficial reasons, I will decrease my chances of heart disease, diabetes and obesity that sugar addiction can cause.

After doing some reading, I’ve come up with the following list to help me combat my cravings:

  1. Water, water, water…just flush it all out
  2. Keep fruit around my desk for the 3pm slump, instead of reaching for junk food, reach for a piece of fruit instead
  3. Just say no – I’m a 27-year-old adult, it’s time to grow a back-bone and say no thank you if offered sweets
  4. Protein at every meal, will keep me feeling fuller longer
  5. Visualization – imagine if I stop eating sugar my jelly belly will be replaced with a rock-hard 6 pack.

If junk food is the devil, then a sweet orange is as scripture.  ~Terri Guillemets

