I hope it is obvious to the kind people at Larabar that finishing the Larabars they sent me in under 36 hours means I really really like them.

Larabars are pretty awesome.  They have a large variety of incredibly delicious flavours, are the perfect travel food and are also vegan-friendly.  Larabars were created in May 2000 by Lara after a trip hiking through the Rockie Mountains.  I can imagine the kind of inspiration that would come from being in that setting. 

The bars have a base of nuts and dates and added dried fruits or chocolate.  Larabars do not have any additives or preservatives and are kept fresh by their packaging.  Note – Larabars are not truly ‘raw’ because their juice concentrates are flash pasteurized.

I received the following flavours -

Blueberry Muffin – Oh so good.  Tastes just like raw blueberry muffin dough.  I haven’t seen this in any of the health food stores in Toronto but if it’s available please tell me where so I can stock up!

Coconut Cream Pie – Mm.  Who doesn’t love coconut?  This bar was sweet, chewy and full of healthy saturated fats.

Key Lime Pie –Tart and tangy but my least favourite, I’m not a huge fan of lime.

Chocolate Chip Brownie – I suspect this is the same as the Canadian Chocolate Chocolate Chip but I’m not sure.  Either way, this is like heaven.  Chocolately, chewy and sweet and way better then junk food chocolate bars.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – Hands down the best Larabar I’ve tried.  I am in love with this flavour.  This bar tasted exactly like cookie dough, just so good!  The base is cashews (instead of the typical almond) which gives a rich, buttery flavour.

I am loving their new line of chocolate chip bars, so much so I was inspired to create my own version.

Have you tried Larabars? What is your favourite flavour?

