Meet my friend Kristin of the blog Cook, Bake, Nibble.

I loved Kristin the instant I started reading her blog (and then subsequently meeting her in person), I mean the girl is sweet as pie, super funny and one of the most talented chefs around.

So it’s no doubt I was beyond flattered when she asked me to review her new eBook, Crash Course In Gluten-Free Living.

Wow this book is amazing.  A well-researched guide on living gluten-free, Kristin covers it all!  This book shares Kristin and her sister’s story of their digestive issues and how going gluten-free helped heal them.  There is tons of information on baking using gluten-free flours which I was most impressed with as well as tips and tricks on leading a gluten-free life outside of the home which can sometimes be a challenge.

And of course, there are the recipes!  Featuring many of Kristin’s creations (which I can say first hand are amazing!) to recipes from bloggers such as Angela from Oh She Glows and Elana from Elana’s Pantry this ebook features hearty mains, delicious desserts and many veg-friendly recipes.

I chose to make Kristin’s Sweet Potato Cocoa Chili.  Since sweet potatoes and chocolate are my favourite flavours this sounded perfect!

Sweet Potato Cocoa Chili

Ingredients

1 medium onion, diced
2 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 cup bell pepper, diced
1 clove garlic
2 cups peeled and cubed sweet potato or yam
2 heaping tbsp tomato paste
1 cup canned diced tomatoes
1 14- oz can tomato sauce
2 cups vegetable stock
2+ cups water (more if you are cooking beans in chili)
3 cups beans, dried & soaked (or 2 cans ) I used black beans & kidney beans
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp coriander
cayenne and red pepper flakes to taste
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
Sea salt, if desired

Directions

1. Heat 1 table spoon of olive oil to medium high heat in a large pot. Add
diced onions and sauté until softened, about 4-5 minutes .
2. Add bell pepper, stir and sauté for another 5 minutes or so, add garlic and
stir for 1 minute.
3. Reduce heat to medium, stir in tomato paste. When incorporated, add
diced tomatoes and tomato sauce and stir.
4. Add stock and 2 cups water, bring to a boil. Add beans and stir.
5. Add spices, cayenne and red pepper flakes to taste and cocoa powder.
6. Stir until combined. Bring to a boil again and reduce to a simmer.
7. If using cooked/canned beans , then simmer 30-45 minutes until flavours
meld. If using soaked beans, simmer rapidly for 1-1 1/2 hours until beans
are fully cooked. Stir every 15- 30 minutes to as sure beans are not sticking to bottom of pan. Add extra water as needed- I needed two extra cups .

Served with a sprinkle of lime juice and chopped cilantro, if desired.

Dani’s note – I served this with a gorgeous kale salad since it was Kristin who made me learn to love kale with her massaged kale salad recipe.

I love this chili, the cocoa added such a nice flavour and this meal is full of fibre.  To purchase this amazing book, please visit here for more information.

Well done Kris, it is obvious how much talent and passion you have for cooking!  I am blessed to know you!

